NROTC Awards

*2018 Recipients

The Naval Submarine League Outstanding Achievement Award is presented to selected graduating NROTC seniors approved for entry into the Navy’s nuclear propulsion program as submarine officers. It recognizes students with proven academic and leadership skills and is named in honor of Rear Admiral Frederick B. Warder, a standout among the many World War II submarine heroes. Admiral Warder, who commanded Seawolf, was a courageous, aggressive, and innovative submariner. He was revered by his crew who respectfully dubbed him “Fearless Freddie.”

The award is presented by NSL members whenever possible and consists of a certificate, a letter, acknowledgment in The Submarine Review and on the NSL website, and a one-year membership in the Naval Submarine League. The administration and rules for the award are outlined in instruction NSTC M-1533.2A, Appendix E, Section 1-2, Para. 5.

Each of the following awardees has demonstrated superior, sustained performance in a difficult and challenging academic and operational environment and, as a result, has earned his or her Commanding Officer’s nomination for this distinctive award:

Congratulations to the 2018 Recipients: