Literary Awards

Literary Awards are associated with articles chosen for publication in The Submarine Review and are intended to encourage critical thinking and innovative approaches that address important Submarine Force issues and topics of interest. Civilian authors are eligible for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place awards and receive $300, $200, and $100 respectively. Active Duty authors in three categories (Officers, E9-E7, and E6 and below) are eligible for awards and also receive $300, $200, and $100 respectively.

2017 Literary Award Winners

Best Civilian Authors:
1st Place: CAPT Jack F. O’Connell, USN, Ret., “The Japanese Attacks on Pearl Harbor and the Philippines”
2nd Place: CAPT Tim Wolters, USN, Ret., “Reading Submarine History”
3rd Place: Dr. Anthony Wells, “The Zimmerman Telegram”

Best Active Duty Authors: 
ENS James Catina, “Undersea Warfare Training: Knowledge for All Officers”